top of page

white flour = sugar!

Happy Tuesday everyone!

Did ya`ll know that white bread reacts like pure sugar to our bodies?? I sure didn`t untill couple of weeks ago. So I started doing some research and I have to admit, I was very shocked! I mean, yea, we aaaall know that white bread isn`t good for us, we get to hear it oh so often *eyesroll*. But I really did not expect this "unhealthy white bread" to have the same effect as sugar does on us.

Here`s what I found out:

White flour is a highly processed product. Yes!! HIGHLY PROCESSED!

The factories have to process the flour to get our bread to this white color that we all love so much, cause it makes us feel like it`s clean and good. But it`s the complete opposite! The factories peel the seeds to get them white, so they can make the most popular bread in America. YUP! White bread is the most sold and most popular bread in the United States.

What makes this high processed bread so bad for us, is the fact that now that the coat of the seeds has been removed, it`s waaaaaay easier for our stomach to absorb all of it. Carbs are sugar chains that our stomach has to break down, in order to absorb it. White carbs are much easier on our stomachs. Our belly doensn`t have to work to hard to break down every single sugar chain. Meaning: all of it is being absorbed and used as sugar. NOT GOOD!

On the other side, whole wheat or whole grain breads make this break down harder. The full seed (with the peel) takes way longer to absorb, than the time it stays in our stomach. Meaning: only a part actually gets broken down, while the rest just flushes down to our intestines, which is GOOD for us and our bodys.

And all of this doesn`t only apply to bread. It`s pretty much everything made of white flour. Pasta, bagels, tortilla, flatbreads, waffles, pancakes. The same with white rice, try brown rice instead. I understand that switching to whole wheat products can be difficult, I had trouble myself. That brown rice just didn`t taste good. *sigh* But I have to say, after trying it a couple times, I started loving it waaay more than white rice. Now the white rice tastes so weird and not good to me no more. lol.

Eat smart you guys, be aware of what you are eating and what you are feeding your family.

Love ya`ll ;-)


bottom of page